British Association for South Asian Studies

News & Events

BASAS News and Events

BASAS Council Elections 2019

BASAS is pleased to announce four new member of Council, Dr Tom Chambers, Dr Angela Eyre, Dr Deanna Heath, and Dr Jeevan Sharma. Current Council Member Professor Andrea Major will also be taking the role of Treasurer. A warm welcome to all who will take up their positions with effect from 1st November 2019.

The election process for BASAS Council was announced in June with a closing date for nominations set at 31st July.

As has happened on previous occasions, the number of nominations did not exceed the number of vacant positions. Consequently, rather than holding a formal election process, the current Council has carefully scrutinised the nominations and the personal statements and I can now announce that we are very pleased to ratify the people listed below. I have included the candidates’ personal statements and can report that council is very impressed with the high calibre of the candidates, the many useful and innovative ideas that they will bring to Council. We all very much look forward to formally welcoming our new Council members at their first Council meeting in the Autumn and to working with them to the benefit of BASAS as a whole over the coming years.

We are always very keen for BASAS members to participate actively in the Association's work, whether they are scholars just embarking on their careers or people with longer experience. Everyone has something to offer and we hope that more people can be encouraged in future to put themselves forward for involvement in developing BASAS activities and enhancing the profile of South Asian Studies in the UK and beyond. So please: do not hold back! And if you would like to discuss standing for a position on Council or any matter with a member of Council, please do not hesitate to do so.


Treasurer : Professor Andrea Major, University of Leeds

Ordinary Member: Dr Tom Chambers, Oxford Brookes University

Ordinary Member: Dr Angela Eyre, The Open University

Ordinary Member: Dr Deana Heath, University of Liverpool

Ordinary Member: Dr Jeevan Sharma, University of Edinburgh

Candidates' Statements of Purpose:

The newly-elected council members' Candidate Statements of Purpose can be read here

Prof Patricia Jeffery
Chair, British Association for South Asian Studies